Kit Sorted Buy Brief

Job-management software for tradies, by team size and type of work

Updated 20 Oct 2026 Vendor documentation verified No affiliate links
Evidence level: Vendor documentation verified.

Claims verified against current first-party vendor documentation. This is the weakest evidence level behind any product claim in this Buy Brief; individual recommendations show their own label. We have not used, trialled or run our task script on these products, so no recommendation here is labelled Hands-on tested or Trialled. How we check

The short answer

Just you
ServiceM8 Free (A$0, 30 jobs a month) is the lowest-cost start of the apps checked.
2 to 10 people
ServiceM8 if headcount is growing faster than job count; Tradify if you run lots of jobs with a small team; Fergus for staged project work.
11 to 20 people
Fergus or ServiceM8's higher plans, then compare with AroFlo.
20+ people, commercial or asset-heavy work
Shortlist AroFlo (from AUD $80 per user a month, minimum 3 users) and Simpro (price on request).
Already on Xero and choosing a job app
You still need a job app if you send people to jobs — Xero keeps the books; the job app runs the field work. ServiceM8, Tradify and Fergus each list a native Xero connection (see each option below and the ServiceM8→Xero Buy Brief for how ServiceM8's sync behaves). If you only need invoicing in Xero, a job app may be more software than you need.

The problem this solves

'Best job management software' depends on your team size, how many jobs you run and whether your work is quick service calls or multi-stage projects. This Buy Brief routes you to the right shortlist; for the head-to-head of the three most common apps, read ServiceM8 vs Tradify vs Fergus.

Who this Buy Brief is for

  • Australian trade and home-service businesses choosing their first job app or replacing one
  • Owners who want a shortlist by team size before booking demos

Who it isn't for

  • Businesses that already know they're choosing between ServiceM8, Tradify and Fergus (go straight to that Buy Brief)

Quick comparison

Prices are shown exactly as the vendor publishes them. We never convert currencies. Where a vendor shows an ex-GST AUD price, we also show the incl. GST figure and mark it as calculated.

Options in this Buy Brief, with price, GST and evidence
OptionPriceGSTEvidence
ServiceM8
A$0/mo Free 1 user, 30 jobs/month [3] checked 26 Oct 2026
A$29/mo Starter Unlimited users, 50 jobs/month [4] checked 26 Oct 2026
A$79/mo Growing Unlimited users, 150 jobs/month [5] checked 26 Oct 2026
A$149/mo Premium / Premium Plus Unlimited users, 500 jobs/month; Premium Plus A$349/mo, 1,500+ jobs/month [6] checked 26 Oct 2026
Includes GST (vendor states)
Vendor documentation verified
Tradify
A$48 per user/mo Lite Basics: jobs, scheduling, quotes, invoices, accounting sync A$52.80 per user/mo incl. GST (calculated by us: +10%) [11] checked 26 Oct 2026
A$52 per user/mo Pro Adds quote and invoice reminders, online quote acceptance, progress invoicing A$57.20 per user/mo incl. GST (calculated by us: +10%) [13] checked 26 Oct 2026
A$62 per user/mo Plus Adds SmartRead and SmartWrite AI tools, purchase orders, service reminders A$68.20 per user/mo incl. GST (calculated by us: +10%) [12] checked 26 Oct 2026
Excludes GST (vendor states)
Vendor documentation verified
Fergus
$53/mo Essentials Currency not stated UNVERIFIED 'From' price; a 90% off offer 'til December' is shown, with no end date published [18] checked 26 Oct 2026
$77/mo Professional Currency not stated UNVERIFIED 'From' price; Enterprise 10+ staff on request [20] checked 26 Oct 2026
GST basis not stated (UNVERIFIED)
Vendor documentation verified
AroFlo
A$80 per user/mo Starting price Minimum 3 users; sliding scale [23] checked 26 Oct 2026
GST basis not stated (UNVERIFIED)
Vendor documentation verified
Simpro
Not published Base plan Request pricing [26] checked 26 Oct 2026
GST basis not stated (UNVERIFIED)
Vendor documentation verified
Jobber
US$49/mo Core USD, no AUD price published UNVERIFIED USD, no AU pricing published; 1 user; US$39/mo with 1-year commitment; US$29/mo billed annually; extra users US$29/mo each [30] checked 26 Oct 2026
Excludes sales tax (vendor states); GST treatment for Australia not stated
Vendor documentation verified

Option by option

Suits: Sole traders and growing crews; priced by jobs, not users.

Integrations

  • Syncs clients, items, invoices and payments with Xero, QuickBooks Online and MYOB (Xero and QuickBooks Online listed for all plans). [1]

Relevant AI features

  • AI Smart Helper is listed on all plans: it drafts emails and texts to clients, drafts quote and invoice descriptions and billing items, summarises jobs, and includes a voice assistant. [2]

Strengths

Limitations

When ServiceM8 is NOT a good fit

  • Very high job volume with very few staff. [5] , [8]
Visit ServiceM8 No affiliate link

Suits: Small teams with high job volume who want per-user pricing.

Integrations

  • Integrates with Xero, MYOB, QuickBooks Online and Stripe. Accounting sync is listed from the Lite plan. [9]

Relevant AI features

  • SmartRead for Bills (captures costs from bills using AI) and SmartWrite (generates descriptions and improves writing) are on the Plus plan only. [10]

Strengths

Limitations

  • Each user adds to the bill. [8]

When Tradify is NOT a good fit

  • Large crews doing a modest number of jobs. [8]

Still unverified

  • Whether the A$0.20 SMS and A$19 Instant Website add-on prices include GST: not stated beside the prices (plans are marked 'Ex GST'); the terms Tradify links to say 'Fees are exclusive of tax' (re-checked 20 Oct 2026). UNVERIFIED
  • Whether any job or quote volume limits apply (none stated on the pricing page). UNVERIFIED

Tradify not syncing to Xero? Checks and fixes from the vendor's own help pages

Visit Tradify No affiliate link

Suits: Project and multi-stage trade work with crews of up to about 20.

Integrations

  • Syncs with Xero, QuickBooks and MYOB. [14]

Relevant AI features

  • Fergus AI and Fergus Assistant: set up jobs, build quotes, prepare invoices, draft customer messages and answer questions about your jobs and numbers. Fergus says Assistant shows a confirmation step before it creates, changes or sends anything. [15]

Strengths

  • Lists job phases and focuses on crews of 1 to 20. [16] , [17]

Limitations

  • Currency and GST basis not stated on the pricing page; per-user basis comes from a 2019 help article. A 90% promotion was showing on 20 Oct 2026. [18] , [19]

When Fergus is NOT a good fit

  • You need a clear self-serve price before a demo. [18]

Still unverified

  • The currency of the AU prices (the page shows '$' only; Fergus's NZ page shows different prices) and whether they include GST (Fergus's terms say 'Our Fees are exclusive of all taxes'). The terms of the 90% promotion. UNVERIFIED
  • Which Fergus plans include Fergus AI / Assistant. UNVERIFIED
  • AU pricing compare table (20 Oct) has no row labelled quote reminders; feature documented in help. UNVERIFIED
Visit Fergus No affiliate link

Suits: Larger, asset-heavy or compliance-heavy operations.

Integrations

Not covered in the sources we checked for this Buy Brief. UNVERIFIED

Relevant AI features

  • Lists AI features named JustAsk, FieldReady, JobReady, JobScribe and JobBrief, plus an AI-Bill Scanner add-on. [22]

Strengths

  • Australian pricing from AUD $80 per user a month, cheaper per user as you add more. [23]
  • Built for complex workflows, with compliance forms, Gantt project management and 600+ connected suppliers. [21]

Limitations

  • Minimum of 3 users, and GST treatment of the price isn't stated. [23]

When AroFlo is NOT a good fit

  • Sole traders and small crews doing simple service jobs. [23] , [21]

Still unverified

  • GST treatment of the AUD $80 starting price; setup fees outside the advertised promotion. UNVERIFIED
  • Which accounting packages AroFlo syncs with (not checked for this brief). UNVERIFIED
Visit AroFlo No affiliate link

Suits: Businesses from about 5 to 200 staff doing complex commercial work.

Integrations

Not covered in the sources we checked for this Buy Brief. UNVERIFIED

Relevant AI features

No AI features documented in the sources we checked for this Buy Brief. UNVERIFIED

Strengths

  • Broad base plan covering quoting, scheduling, inventory, invoicing and reporting, with trade-specific add-ons. [24]

Limitations

  • No public pricing; you have to request it. [26]
  • Simpro says there's an initial setup fee (amount not published) and it sells by demo, not a self-serve trial. [25]

When Simpro is NOT a good fit

  • You want to compare prices without a sales call. [26]

Still unverified

  • All Simpro pricing, including the setup fee amount (request only). UNVERIFIED
  • Simpro AI features (not checked for this brief). UNVERIFIED
Visit Simpro No affiliate link

Suits: Home-service businesses happy to pay in USD.

Integrations

  • The feature table lists QuickBooks Online and Xero sync; the FAQ on the same page mentions QuickBooks Online only. [27]

Relevant AI features

  • Lists Jobber AI Voice, Jobber AI Chat, auto-drafted quotes and an AI custom report builder. [28]

Strengths

  • Lists AI voice and chat assistants and auto-drafted quotes. [28]

Limitations

  • The AU pricing page lists prices in USD only, and two-way texting and card processing are listed for the US, Canada and UK. [30] , [29]

When Jobber is NOT a good fit

  • You want AUD pricing and Australian texting and payments inside the app. [30] , [29]

Still unverified

  • No AUD pricing found on Jobber's AU pricing page. We do not convert USD to AUD. UNVERIFIED
Visit Jobber No affiliate link

Recommendation by business type

Pick

Just you

ServiceM8. A$0 Free plan for one user and 30 jobs a month, with AUD pricing incl. GST. [3] ,[7]

Evidence:Vendor documentation verified

Pick

2 to 10 people, high job volume

Tradify. Per-user AUD pricing with no job limit stated keeps costs predictable when job count is high. [8] ,[13]

Evidence:Vendor documentation verified

Pick

2 to 10 people, fewer bigger jobs

ServiceM8. Unlimited users on paid plans means adding staff doesn't add cost. [31]

Evidence:Vendor documentation verified

Shortlist: book a demo or trial first

Project work, crew up to about 20

Fergus. Job phases and a 1-to-20 crew focus; confirm the price basis on a demo. [16] ,[17]

Evidence:Vendor documentation verified

Shortlist: book a demo or trial first

20+ staff, commercial or asset-heavy

AroFlo or Simpro. Both pitch themselves at larger, more complex operations; book demos and compare total cost for your user count. [21] ,[24]

Evidence:Vendor documentation verified

When this is NOT a good fit

  • Your main problem is missed calls or slow quote follow-up, not job management. See those Buy Briefs instead. Our judgement

Before you switch apps

Choosing is half the job; moving clients, price books and open work across, and reconnecting Xero, is the other half. During the trial or demo, check how each app on your shortlist imports your data and whether it connects to Xero, and ask your registered BAS or tax agent to confirm the tax settings in the new app.

Not sure which job app fits?

Answer four questions about your team and work. Your answers stay in your browser.

Try the job app picker

How we checked this

  • Prices and features are from each vendor's own Australian pricing page, read 18–20 Oct 2026.
  • We have not used any of these apps for this Buy Brief.
  • Jobber's AU page lists USD only; we don't convert it to AUD.

Evidence levels used in this Buy Brief:

Disclosure

Affiliate links

  • ServiceM8: No affiliate link. A referral program exists, but Kit Sorted has not joined it.
  • Tradify: No affiliate link. A referral program exists, but Kit Sorted has not joined it.
  • Fergus: No affiliate link. A referral program exists, but Kit Sorted has not joined it.
  • AroFlo: No affiliate link. We haven't joined any affiliate or partner programme for this vendor.
  • Simpro: No affiliate link. We haven't joined any affiliate or partner programme for this vendor.
  • Jobber: No affiliate link. A referral program exists, but Kit Sorted has not joined it.

Sponsorship

Nothing in this Buy Brief is sponsored. Sponsor policy

Common ownership

Kit Sorted is owned by AI Architecture Lab Pty Ltd, which also provides software setup services to businesses. Full disclosure

Sources

  1. Syncs clients, items, invoices and payments with Xero, QuickBooks Online and MYOB (Xero and QuickBooks Online listed for all plans). servicem8.com , checked 26 Oct 2026. Vendor documentation verified
  2. AI Smart Helper is listed on all plans: it drafts emails and texts to clients, drafts quote and invoice descriptions and billing items, summarises jobs, and includes a voice assistant. servicem8.com , checked 26 Oct 2026. Vendor documentation verified
  3. Free plan: A$0/month, 1 user, 30 jobs per month, 10c per SMS. servicem8.com , checked 26 Oct 2026. Vendor documentation verified
  4. Starter: A$29/month, unlimited users, 50 jobs per month. servicem8.com , checked 26 Oct 2026. Vendor documentation verified
  5. Growing: A$79/month, unlimited users, 150 jobs per month. servicem8.com , checked 26 Oct 2026. Vendor documentation verified
  6. Premium: A$149/month, unlimited users, 500 jobs per month. Premium Plus: A$349/month, unlimited users, 1,500+ jobs per month. servicem8.com , checked 26 Oct 2026. Vendor documentation verified
  7. ServiceM8 says Australian pricing is in AUD and includes GST. servicem8.com , checked 26 Oct 2026. Vendor documentation verified
  8. Every listed plan is priced per user per month. The pricing page does not mention a monthly job limit. tradifyhq.com , checked 26 Oct 2026. Vendor documentation verified
  9. Integrates with Xero, MYOB, QuickBooks Online and Stripe. Accounting sync is listed from the Lite plan. tradifyhq.com , checked 26 Oct 2026. Vendor documentation verified
  10. SmartRead for Bills (captures costs from bills using AI) and SmartWrite (generates descriptions and improves writing) are on the Plus plan only. tradifyhq.com , checked 26 Oct 2026. Vendor documentation verified
  11. Lite: A$48 per user per month, ex GST. tradifyhq.com , checked 26 Oct 2026. Vendor documentation verified
  12. Plus: A$62 per user per month, ex GST. Custom plans are priced on request. tradifyhq.com , checked 26 Oct 2026. Vendor documentation verified
  13. Pro: A$52 per user per month, ex GST. tradifyhq.com , checked 26 Oct 2026. Vendor documentation verified
  14. Syncs with Xero, QuickBooks and MYOB. fergus.com , checked 26 Oct 2026. Vendor documentation verified
  15. Fergus AI and Fergus Assistant: set up jobs, build quotes, prepare invoices, draft customer messages and answer questions about your jobs and numbers. Fergus says Assistant shows a confirmation step before it creates, changes or sends anything. fergus.com , checked 26 Oct 2026. Vendor documentation verified
  16. Plan comparison lists Job Phases, price books, supplier integrations, purchase orders and health and safety tools. fergus.com , checked 26 Oct 2026. Vendor documentation verified
  17. Fergus says it mostly serves crews of 1 to 20, with some larger businesses running crews of 50+. fergus.com , checked 26 Oct 2026. Vendor documentation verified
  18. Essentials: from $53 per month. Fergus's pricing page shows a 90% off offer 'til December' with no end date; we have not confirmed the exact date or how long the discount lasts. The offer price shown is $5.30, with the $53 struck through. The page shows a dollar sign only; it doesn't state the currency or whether GST is included. Fergus's terms of service say 'Our Fees are exclusive of all taxes, levies, or duties imposed by taxing authorities' and that GST is billed on top where it applies. fergus.com , checked 26 Oct 2026. Vendor documentation verified
  19. Fergus's terms of service say that, unless your billing plan states otherwise, fees are charged per user with a plan-type base. Its help centre also says you pay per user, per month. fergus.com , checked 26 Oct 2026. Vendor documentation verified
  20. Professional: from $77 per month (promo price $7.70 shown on 20 Oct 2026; same caveats). Enterprise (10+ staff): custom plan on request. fergus.com , checked 26 Oct 2026. Vendor documentation verified
  21. AroFlo describes itself as built for complex, asset-heavy operational workflows. Standard inclusions listed: quoting and job management, timesheets and scheduling, accounting and payments, compliance and safety forms, Gantt project management, inventory and 600+ connected suppliers. aroflo.com , checked 26 Oct 2026. Vendor documentation verified
  22. Lists AI features named JustAsk, FieldReady, JobReady, JobScribe and JobBrief, plus an AI-Bill Scanner add-on. aroflo.com , checked 26 Oct 2026. Vendor documentation verified
  23. Starting price AUD $80 per user per month, minimum 3 users, on a sliding scale that gets cheaper per user as you add users. aroflo.com , checked 26 Oct 2026. Vendor documentation verified
  24. Simpro pitches itself to businesses with 'five or 200 staff', including complex commercial jobs. Base plan lists quoting and estimating, scheduling, inventory and purchasing, invoicing, accounting and reporting, plus add-ons such as Digital Forms, Maintenance Planner and Takeoffs. simprogroup.com , checked 26 Oct 2026. Vendor documentation verified
  25. Simpro says there is an initial setup fee for onboarding, training and data migration, priced by how complex your business is (amount not published). It sells through a tailored demo rather than a self-serve trial, with monthly or annual billing. simprogroup.com , checked 26 Oct 2026. Vendor documentation verified
  26. Simpro does not publish prices on its AU pricing page; it asks you to request pricing. Pricing not publicly verified — request a current quote from the vendor. simprogroup.com , checked 26 Oct 2026. Vendor documentation verified
  27. The feature table lists QuickBooks Online and Xero sync; the FAQ on the same page mentions QuickBooks Online only. getjobber.com , checked 26 Oct 2026. Vendor documentation verified
  28. Lists Jobber AI Voice, Jobber AI Chat, auto-drafted quotes and an AI custom report builder. getjobber.com , checked 26 Oct 2026. Vendor documentation verified
  29. Jobber's pricing page lists two-way text messaging and online card processing as available in the US, Canada and the UK only. getjobber.com , checked 26 Oct 2026. Vendor documentation verified
  30. Core (1 user): US$49/month with no commitment, US$39/month on a monthly plan with a 1-year commitment, or US$29/month billed annually. USD, no AU pricing published: Jobber's pricing page states all prices are in USD and exclude sales tax where applicable. getjobber.com , checked 26 Oct 2026. Vendor documentation verified
  31. ServiceM8 does not charge per user. Only the Free plan limits users (to one). servicem8.com , checked 26 Oct 2026. Vendor documentation verified

The newsletter isn't open yet.